Coconut Watermelon Granita & a Giveaway

Let’s play a word association game. I say “TV chef”, you say???

Jamie Oliver. Err’day. I went through a phase where I’d have BBC cooking channel running all day. Didn’t matter who was on – Delia, Nigella, Rick, but the minute Jamie came on, that was it. Game over, it’s tv time! My favourite series was the one when he lived in that bachelor pad with the winding staircase which he’d slide down to get out the door, this was before him and Jules were even married. Now don’t quote me on it but I’m pretty sure that was the era when he made a Cointreau Passionfruit granita that rocked my amateur cook’s world… Mmmmm granita… chunky, icy, fruity refreshyness. Yes. That’s a word.

So when Scott from Natural Raw C offered you guys a giveaway of a carton of 12 x 330ml of their coconut waters, I loved the idea of creating a Coconut water granita! Refreshyness much? I think so!!!

To be in the giveaway all you have to go do is:

  1. Be a subscriber to my blog
  2. Leave a comment on this post telling us what how you’d serve this granita!

~This Giveaway is now closed~

Granita icey yumminess!

  • 330ml Natural Raw C Coconut Water
  • 2C / 300g of fresh watermelon
  • Juice of a fresh lime
  1. Blend all ingredients together and freeze in a shallow freezer-proof dish, stirring/raking every hour
  2. When it’s mostly frozen, take it out and scrape the ice crystals with a fork and voila! Granita! Or should I say… Ecco! Help me out any Italians please?!
  3. Add a little vodka and you’ve got yourself an amazing cocktail!!!

So, why’s Natural Raw C so special? I mean, other than dishy Pete Evans being the face of the company 😉

“Raw C team prides itself on supplying a product with “100% Pure Coconut water, (No added sugar, no preservatives, no funny stuff, and not from concentrate). Did you know some coconut water brands have over 100% more sugar than Natural Raw C? We are proud that our product is not only the most natural & best tasting but only has 2.52g per 100mls of naturally occurring sugar. Have a look at the brands in the major supermarkets as some have over 5grams!”

Natural Raw C sells their coconut water in 300ml tetra packs and also in 1l packs, which I think is totally AWESOME!! I drink the stuff like normal water, going through litres in a week so this chick needs them bigger BOOM! Clever, handsome Pete… 😉Coconut Water Granita

* Giveaway Conditions

  1. Only open for postage within Australia
  2. Must be a Hot Pink Chilli blog subscriber
  3. Winner will be drawn at random using random.org
  4. Winner will be notified by email (check your junk mail folder!) If no contact back within 48 hours, it will be redrawn
  5. Giveaway ends Midnight, Friday 7th Feb.
Comments
32 Responses to “Coconut Watermelon Granita & a Giveaway”
  1. Jill says:

    Sounds awesome. I would add mint 🙂

  2. Tanya says:

    Mmm well the kiddies would love it as is but Mumma might have to add a dash of vodka and mint for a Friday afternoon special!

  3. Leonie says:

    Yum – I’m going to have to try this!

  4. Shelley Whiteaker says:

    So many ways to enjoy this granita! A refreshing snack on a hot day, add some vodka for a naughty treat, or top with champagne for a true celebration!

  5. Sarah Howard says:

    A splash of vodka, a generous serving of pink prosecco poured over your granita topped with crushed ice,mint and lime segments. Pass us a straw somebody!

  6. Rebecca says:

    I love watermelon with mint but I tried watermelon with basil the other day and it is such a great combo. Love me some basil!

    Of course cocktail glass out on the verandah in a deck chair doesn’t hurt either.

  7. Melissa says:

    I would add extra lime for a bit more of a tang. I do like the vodka idea though …

  8. Mel says:

    Im thinking a sunday arvo session by the pool with a couple of good friends… With a side of “grape juice” 😉

  9. Mel says:

    Yummmm….I’m not sure it would last long enough to add anything else

  10. Amber Boyce says:

    I’d serve it with a side of fruit salad – yum 🙂

  11. Tessa says:

    Yummmm! I’m thinking hot day, out the back with a fruit salad on the side with my feet in the pool 😍

  12. Marie says:

    I am having a barbecue this weekend with my partner’s family, I would add a bucket of vodka so I don’t throw my mother-in-law off the balcony!

  13. lara busch says:

    I would add rasberries and mint, delish and very refreshing I would say.

    Thanks

  14. Yen says:

    Just tried Raw C and loved it as it didn’t have an aftertaste that some coconut waters have.
    Anyway, I have a thriving mint plant, so would add mint
    And honestly, I’d probably add vodka too when the girls come around for brunch!

  15. The Yogic Housewife says:

    Love Raw C – it’s my fav coconut water. may add a little pineapple and mint and see how it tastes!

  16. I would add some mint & for the adults some vodka & serve in hollowed out mini melons sprinkled with mint leaves and extra lime wedges for those that like a bit extra ‘tang’

  17. Jacqui says:

    LOVE that coconut water!! I would serve this on a hot day spent relaxing outside! or as a summer dessert after a nice light meal 🙂

  18. Leteisha says:

    I woud have to add some pineapple and mint into the mix…. yum! perfect to enjoy after a morning at the beach!

  19. Jennifer says:

    Have to top with some mint leaves an have a nice Moroccan chicken salad with it yum

  20. Hazel O'Halloran says:

    I’m thinking mocktail for the kids and cocktail (with added extras!) for the grownups. Just the thing for a get together with good friends!

  21. megan grace says:

    I am more of a watermelon and basil person over the mint , and i would …just because i can add some crushed pistachios and some shavings of dark chocolate ftp make a really fresh desert..oh and maybe add some of that awesome organic vodka!

  22. Lori hrycyszyn says:

    I would serve this in little martini glasses on a wooden tray to friends on the deck at a Friday night dinner as the sun is about to go down 😉

  23. Michele says:

    I’d serve it sitting on the deck over looking the ocean getting some ‘soul medicine’ with good friends:)

  24. Rebekah says:

    Yum!!! I do love raw c coconut water. It has been my favourite flavour wise of all the brands.

  25. Rebekah says:

    And I would serve this granita with some mint and a big wedge of lime….

  26. Astrid says:

    I’d serve it in a nice big glass, over some freshly chopped watermelon and with a wedge of lime on the side.

  27. Ann-Maree says:

    I’d serve this granita several times a day over the next week – we are expecting temps in themid 30’s every day! With a couple of mint leaves for an extra refreshyness 🙂

  28. Mmmm granita! Great idea using the coconut water, and that brand is one of my favourites. Everything Pete Evans seems to touch lately is gold! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

