Taco Seasoning

I LOVE Mexican food. I’m sure the versions that I eat are not authentic but jalapenos, sour cream and lashings of avocado? What’s not to love?! Unfortunately the commercially available spice mixes are nothing more than chemical cocktails that induce my asthma, make me tired, cranky, give me bad skin to name a few so I trialled this on the weekend and it was the… wait, what’s the Mexican way to say “Bomb Diggedy?”

  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  1. Mix altogether in a bowl and keep in a glass spice bottle for Mexican-food-related emergencies πŸ˜‰

Spice, spice baby!

I didn’t really (do I ever?) measure how much I used in my burrito mince but I’d say about 2 tablespoons per 500g is a good start and then add more as you need it. This was not that spicy and my MissΒ  4 & 5 enjoyed it, saying it was a bit hot but then I just gave them more avo and sour cream and they were happy πŸ˜‰

Let me know what you think Ole?! That’s totally not Mexican is it…

Comments
7 Responses to “Taco Seasoning”
  1. That is how I make my chilli seasoning, except sans chilli when doing a family dish as the kids aren’t fans LOL

  2. Roz says:

    Oh thank you! I’ve been so hunting for a good mix to make up- often the ones I see seem so, I dunno, complicated! Thanks!

  3. Tanya says:

    Hey Jodi just saw this! Confession time – I still use a commercial Taco seasoning (with the least additives I could find) but this has gone to the top of the try next time list. Tacos/Nachos/burritos are a regular thing here as the kids love em and I can hide extra veges in the mince. I have all those things on my spice rack – hooray for home made!!

Leave a Reply

