1-1-1 Anzac Biscuits

I’m definitely not one of those blogs that jumps on every hallmark card bandwagon creating recipes for each and every holiday BUT Anzac Day is a bit special… mostly because I’ve lived in Australia for 10 years, we now have 2 Australian children and I became a citizen 4 years ago, on Australia Day. Coming from Africa, I will never take for granted the freedom we experience living in this amazingly beautiful country. It’s such a blessing! Oh… and 2ndly because who can’t say no to a delicious Anzac Biccie?! I mean C’moooooon!

*Warning* this recipe is not grain-free or dairy-free but it is refined sugar-free and I’ll give some GF, DF options below (1-1-1 refers to the first 3 measurements, on a public holiday, I gotta dumb it down for my own sake!)

Yummy...

1-1-1 Anzac Biccies

  • 1 C Organic Oats /Quinoa flakes
  • 1 C Coconut
  • 1 C Almond Meal
  • 1/2 C Coconut sugar
  • 1/4 C Butter (grassfed!)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp Apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp bicarb
  • pinch of salt

*note* I successfully ‘threaded’ the 2nd blade of my Thermomix this week by overloading it with raw mint fudge, so this method is OLD SCHOOL! 😉

  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Smoosh all ingredients together in a bowl with your hands
  3. Roll into balls and flatten slightly
  4. Place on a biscuit tray and bake for 20-30 minutes, depending on your oven, until golden
  5. Allow to cool and crisp up slightly before making yourself a beautiful cup of tea and enjoying together whilst remembering those who have fallen in battle.

LEST WE FORGET

Anzac Day Beauty

Variations:

  • Substitute oats for quinoa flakes to make these grain & gluten-free
  • Substitute the butter for coconut oil to make it dairy free
  • Add more coconut sugar to make these biscuits sweeter (not my style but might be yours 😉 )
  • Dip in unsweetened dark chocolate for an extra high fat hit, yum!
  • To make this egg free you can leave the egg out and substitute with 1/4 C of chia gel (which is 2 Tbsp of chia seeds soaked in a glass of water for 15 minutes) I haven’t tested this one but I do know that you can pretty much sub eggs out with this in most baking recipes so I would give it a go!
Comments
2 Responses to “1-1-1 Anzac Biscuits”
  1. Mands says:

    These look delicious. I had to make gluten free cookies for my son for school but used rice flour instead of almond and no vinegar. Will try with the almond meal next time.

  2. I like your variation, which includes egg, and the idea of dipping in chocolate is decadent. Love it.

Leave a Reply

