Coconut Lime Chicken

The heavy metal detox my dentist put me on since having my amalgams removed includes pretty much the most satisfying and best tasting food I’ve ever eaten since I’m getting 60-70% of my calories from fat. Not any old fat, the good stuff: avocado, raw cream, grass fed butter, pasture fed bacon, coconut oil, grass fed butter, raw cacao butter, goats cheese and… grass fed butter… oh, and did I mention the butter? 😉 Since my tests showed I’m ‘pretty well severely mercury toxic’ the other side is that I’m not allowed anything that comes out the sea: fish, seafood, sea salt, seaweed. Since mercury can’t be eliminated, it accumulates with every ingestion which is why the big fish like salmon and tuna have the highest  markers or mercury and why pregnant women are encouraged to only eat small fish like sardines. To that end I’ve eating a LOT of red meat lately, especially my fave, lamb.

However, tonight, on this drizzly summer’s evening I felt like something lighter so I whipped up the following chicken dish which was simply divine! Don’t be put off by the length of the recipe, you will be doing your taste-buds a disservice if you pass on this one simply because of the number of steps. It’s actually deceivingly simply. You can thank me later 😉

  • 4 pasture fed Chicken Thighs, diced
  • 400g Can of coconut milk
  • 120g Raw cashews
  • 2cm Knob of ginger
  • 2 Australian/Mexican* garlic cloves
  • 1 Brown onion
  • Zest and juice of 2 limes
  • Coconut oil
  • 1 tsp Ground coriander
  • 1/4t chilli powder
  • 1/4 Red cabbage, sliced
  • 2 Zucchinis, diced
  1. Place garlic, ginger and onion in TM bowl and chop on Speed 7 for 3 seconds
  2. Add coconut oil and saute on 100C for 3 minutes on speed slow
  3. Add chicken thighs and brown for 3 minutes on Varoma temperature on reverse
  4. Add coconut milk, cashews, lime juice and zest to the chicken mixture
  5. Place sliced cabbage on both layers of the Varoma and put it in place to steam
  6. Cook everything on Varoma temperature, on speed reverse for 10 minutes
  7. Pour chicken mixture into a thermoserver (at this point you may wish to add a thickener such as cornflour or potato starch into the sauce if you prefer it thicker)
  8. Pour 1l of boiling water into your TM bowl (I always boil the kettle first to save steaming time – especially when a meal looks so dead-set delicious!) Place zucchini into the rice basket and then into the TM bowl and steam along with the cabbage on Varoma temp for 6 minutes on speed 4.
  9. Add zucchini to the coconut lime chicken and cover in sauce. If you have a spare Thermoserver (I’m fortunate to have 5!) keep the cabbage in a 2nd one.

Red cabbage

Tips and Variations:

  • No zester? Peel lime with a vegetable peeler and ‘grate’ on Speed 8 for 10 seconds
  • Tough limes? Cut pith off the limes and juice on speed 9 for 10 seconds, then pour it through a sieve to remove the seeds and fibres
  • If you want rice with this meal, add the zucchini to the Step 4 and soaked Basmati rice to the rice basket in step 8
  • If you like it spicier add more chilli powder or even fresh chilli in step 1
  • No limes? Replace with lemons!

*After a chat with a green grocer, I never buy garlic in packs of 4 in those white nets – they’re from China and have been chemically treated to within an inch of their lives – she told me that this is evident by their lack roots. Mexican and Australian garlic, however, still have their roots (albeit dried) and this indicates that they are much less chemically treated. Interesting huh?! So, while more expensive, the better garlic packs a much more powerful punch of flavour, so go easy if you’re changing to the stronger stuff!

Coconut Lime Chicken

Comments
4 Responses to “Coconut Lime Chicken”
  1. Amanda says:

    This sounds really delicious!

  2. Tina T. says:

    That looks amazing!! I have been in a huge curry mood, glad I ran across your post!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Tina from http://ohsnapletseat.com

  3. Pru says:

    This looks divine my Love!
    I am going to give this a go…..even if I don’t have Mr Thermie residing in my household 😉
    SO very interesting about the garlic too, thanx for sharing Jode’s
    xx

  4. Julie says:

    This looks delicious. I have seen that you have used red cabbage which I have read that is very nutritious. Gotta try it out and hope that it taste good too.

Leave a Reply

