Grain Free Doughnuts

 

I stumbled upon the original version of this recipe on my news feed the other day. Stumbled is too soft a word, it more like slapped me in the face, in a good way! I tried making some donuts over Chanukkah but even I would say that it was not a raging success… so this was a pleasant surprise. A doughnut. Not deep-fried in evil vegetable oil. No flour. No refined sugar = Winning! Much gratitude must go to Jennifer over at The Unrefined Kitchen for this recipe. It is beautiful! So I cranked up the George Benson (yes, I’m only in my early 30’s but I reckon I was born in the wrong era!) made a few tweaks to suit myself and here’s the result:

Grain free doughnuts

Doughnut Mixture

  • 120g water
  • 3 eggs (please pasture fed, not just free-range – your insides will thank you for it)
  • 90g rice malt syrup (could also use raw honey or coconut nectar)
  • 30g coconut oil
  • 1tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 50g almond meal
  • 50g coconut flour
  • 1/2tsp salt (not iodised salt, himalayan or celtic salt)
  • 1/4t bicarbonate of soda

Glaze

  • 150g butter
  • 150g coconut sugar
  • 2tsp cinnamon

DSC_5903

  1. Weigh all wet ingredients to your Thermomix, then add dry ingredients.
  2. Mix on speed 5 for a couple of seconds, scrap down the sides and mix again
  3. Preheat a doughnut maker and spoon heaped teaspoons into it, letting them cook until you smell the dough-nuttiness rising out of it. I haven’t tried it – but I’m sure this recipe would work just as well using a doughnut baking pan, in a moderate oven.
  4. Melt your butter  gently on the stove or in your Thermomix, bath (yes, bath…) the hot doughnuts in the butter on both sides, then dunk them into a bowl of coconut sugar mixed with cinnamon and run away and hide. Run & hide and eat!

I got 33 doughnuts out of this recipe which makes this a very economical paleo recipe.

DSC_5908

Comments
5 Responses to “Grain Free Doughnuts”
  1. Made some donuts last night with my son, who we’ve decided to put on a GF diet. They didn’t turn out great. This, however, is a much better recipe, so will definitely give a try. Thanks Jodie!

  2. I happened to be a very happy recipient of one of these doughnuts which Jodi made for her dad who is in hospital recovering from a knee replacement and i can certainly vouch for their yumminess! Really delicious!

  3. Andy says:

    Could you make these without a doughnut maker? Any ideas if/how this might work?

    • Hi Andy, you can buy a doughnut pan quite cheaply but otherwise I saw someone cook them as muffins and then cut a hole out of them with a little cookie cutter to make them look like doughnuts! I thought that was quite cute 😉 ❤ Jodi

Leave a Reply

