Grain Free Sandwich Bread

I’m undone with this one. It’s not an original recipe – just a tweak or 2, why would you change something so perfect?! Full credit must go to Loving Our Guts for this beautiful recipe – it appears foolproof too, bonus! What’s even better about this bread is the fact that it’s nut-free! Eating grain-free usually involves a lot of nuts and nut meal for baking purposes – but with so many schools instating a nut-free policy due to the alarming rates of severe nut allergies, this can somewhat limit what you’re able to add to your kid’s lunchboxes. This makes a brilliant sandwich bread as well as excellent toast!

Grain Free Sandwich Bread

  • 5 Free-range eggs*
  • 60g Coconut oil
  • 270g desiccated Coconut/ Coconut Butter (If using bought coconut butter, you won’t need the coconut and can start baking from Step #3)
  • 1t Himalayan salt
  • 3/4 tsp Bicarb (Baking soda)
  • Sesame seeds to decorate
  1. Preheat your oven to 160C and line a loaf tin with baking paper.
  2. Add Coconut to your Thermomix or (or high-speed processor) and set it for 3 minutes, on Speed 8 at 37C. You will hear when the coconut turns to butter and you may not need all 3 minutes. It should be quite runny, like thick honey consistency. Try not eat it with a spoon. Leave some for this recipe.
  3. If your coconut oil is solid, remove your coconut butter to a bowl, add your oil and melt on 37C for a minute or 2 until melted. I find it helps to crank it up halfway through, to speed 8 for a second, as it then melts very quickly in such small bits.
  4. Add your coconut butter back into the bowl, followed by the eggs, salt and bicarb and process on speed 6 for 3 seconds until blended.
  5. Pour into your loaf tin, sprinkle with sesame seeds and bake for 60 minutes on 160C
  6. Make sure a cake tester come out clean before taking it out the oven (my first test took 20 minutes longer than the original recipe said)
    I slice mine up while still warm and then freeze the slices in a Ziploc bag straight away – this ensures that it thaws out still lovely and moist!

Variations (untested):

  1. Try adding 1/4C of chia seed to the mixture
  2. Spoon into a muffin tin, top with grated cheese and pop into lunch boxes as a savoury muffin

*Did you know there are various degrees of ‘free-range‘? It could mean anything from these beautiful chickens spending most of their lives in cages or a dark-as-night barn with only a few hours of freedom per day… to proper, actual chicken-living, in a coop, scratching around in the dirt all day long and feasting on organic chicken scraps and worms! This is when choosing ‘organic’ becomes so important – you can hardly imagine a certified organic & free-range chicken egg coming from one of those dusty, sickly barns can you? Choose your eggs carefully. I believe that the quality of life that animals lead, largely dictates the quality of the food they produce or become.

Comments
14 Responses to “Grain Free Sandwich Bread”
  1. Jo Whitton says:

    Ooooh, can’t wait to try this!! Yippeeeee!!! πŸ˜€

  2. mydearbakes says:

    You are so a talented baker! This is so amazing! =)

  3. Courtney says:

    Hi there, i’m new to paleo/clean eating, I thought in Australia cocnut butter was just the hard cococut oil! I’m just unsure, or can I just put store bought desicated coconut into my thermomix as you’ve explained? Sorry if I’m asking the obvious! I just want to make sure I have it right!

    • Hi Courtney (sorry for not replying sooner!!!) definitely not an obvious question but it is different to hardened coconut oil. Coconut butter is to coconut what peanuts are to peanut butter, just processed at high speed until it becomes a paste. It is SUBLIME!!! Good luck πŸ™‚ Jodi

  4. OMG, hopefully I will be lucky with this recipe. I am trying to eat paleo, but I just love bread, specially when homemade. But only had failed attempts up to now. I will let you know what happens. Thanks you

  5. vikki says:

    This was very easy to make but are you sure that 1 teaspn salt is right? It was so salty I had to throw it out…and I love salty stuff!! Anyway will give it another go with maybe a third of the amount. What do you think? Vikki

    • Hot Pink Chilli says:

      That’s the first time I’ve heard that it’s too salty – although I do know that some salts are saltier than others eg: celtic salt is far saltier than himalayan, which is what I use at home. This recipe wasn’t one of my originals, I’ll go check the source and see if I took it down wrong… Thanks for the feedback πŸ™‚

  6. Bonnie says:

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away
    your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  7. Pauline says:

    I’m making this right now and feeling a little sceptical because it made such a small amount of batter :-/ It only just covers the base of the loaf tin so I hope it rises a lot! If it is any good, it will help me a lot as my son is struggling with his new GF diet, especially for lunches at school.

Leave a Reply

