Rhubarb Crumble

Being a Domestic Engineer with a self-employed husband somewhat dulls the excitement of public holidays. As one of my newest Hot Pink Chilli customers said to me today: “Today’s just another day for me”. Add rain and icy wind to the mix and you’ve got yourself one cabin-fevered Mama and a stir-crazy family with nothing else to do on this long weekend but… cook! Yesterday in particular called for something especially warming and comforting post-lunch and, armed with some inspiration from my latest foodie internet find True Nourishment, I made this beautiful Grain-free, dairy-free, naturally sweetened Rhubarb Crumble which really hit the spot! In fact, it was a definite bullseye and I am making it again tonight… for dinner! πŸ˜‰

Crumble Ingredients

  • (1/2C) Soaked and dehydrated almonds
  • (1/2C) Desiccated Coconut
  • (1/4C) Sunflower Seeds
  • (1/2C) Coconut Flour
  • (1/4C) Coconut Nectar
  • 3T Coconut Oil
  • 1t Cinnamon
  • 1/2t Vanilla extract

 

  1. Preheat your oven to 160C
  2. Grind almonds, coconut and sunflower seeds on Speed 9 for 10 seconds.
  3. Add remaining ingredients and mix together on Speed 6 for 5 seconds, until combined. It should feel like wet playdough (but infinitely tastier!) Remove to a bowl.

Filling Ingredients

  • Big bunch of rhubarb
  • 50g Coconut sugar or rapadura sugar
  1. Trim the dry ends off the rhubarb and (making sure none of its poisonous leaves are attached) slice it diagonally in nice 2cm chunks
  2. Cook together rhubarb and coconut sugar on 90C, for 10 minutes on reverse Speed 1
  3. Once cooked, pour your rhubarb mixture into a pie dish, crumble your crumble evenly over the top and bake at 16oC for 45 minutes or until bubbling around the edges and golden on top. You can see in my pics that the highspots of my crumble just started to catch – next time I’ll cover my crumble with foil half-way through cooking.
  4. Serve with Jo’s Dairy-free custard or my favourite… a generous splosh of coconut cream, mmm come to mama! Unfortunately my pics don’t do justice to Jo’s cashew custard as I had run out of cornflour and so tried coconut flour which unfortunately gave it a bit of a, er, texture hence the grainy custard in my pics. Still tasted great though!

Variations instead of rhubarb:

  • Sliced apples with a teaspoon of cinnamon and a splash of lemon juice
  • Mixed frozen berries
  • Mixed rhubarb and apple with cinnamon and lemon juice

Comments
4 Responses to “Rhubarb Crumble”
  1. Natural New Age Mum says:

    yummmmm Jodie – I think you should deliver !! πŸ˜€

  2. Cheryl Crosby says:

    What is coconut nectar?
    Cheryl

    • Hi Cheryl, sorry for the delayed reponse! Coconut nectar is literally the sap of the flower of the coconut palm tree. It is the lowest GI of all the natural sweeteners – except for stevia, which is zero. Honey is GI55 and coconut nectar is GI 28, so it has very little effect on your blood sugar levels. It is also minimally processed and the good quality stuff is expelled at cold temperatues, retaining all it;s wonderful vitamin and mineral nutrients intact. It is FULL of nutritional goodness! You can buy it in bottles from health food stores, I buy mine in a 20L drum and sell it to locals who come to my house with their glass bottles and I fill them. Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚ Jodi

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] for no reason other than cos I can, here are a few pics taken by the uber talented Kirk & Treens Photography of our family last weekend: My parents, my Mom’s mom (my afore mentioned granny), my brother, […]



Leave a Reply

