Coconut Butter Crackles

Everytime I get a spontaneous kids-in-the-kitchen moment I know I should be taking note of measurements etc but since that kind of robs these fun moments of their spontaneity I don’t… but then when they turn out awesome (if I do say so myself!) I have to scramble to try remember just how much of a ‘splosh’ went into it! Apologies in advance for all the ‘ish’ measurements…

I’ve had a packet of random mixed organic ‘puffs’ lying in my cupboard for long enough so I got some inspiration from Tenina and Natural New Age Mum with their chocolate crackles and put them out of their misery (the puffs, not these lovely bloggers!). First of all I made some coconut butter in my Thermomix using this recipe (it’s just too easy not to make yourself, and soooooooo much cheaper!) Otherwise you can buy coconut butter, well, from me! 🙂

  • 200g-ish Coconut Butter
  • 2T Raw Cacao
  • 150g-ish of Coconut Nectar (or to taste)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 100g-ish Organic puffs – I had quinoa, millet, amaranth and brown rice
  1. Mix Coconut Butter, cacao & salt together on Speed 6 for 10 seconds or until combined.
  2. Add Coconut nectar through the hole in the lid over moving blades on 50C, speed 4 for 20 seconds or so. The heat keeps the coconut butter nice and liquid so that the next step is easier.
  3. Slowly pour your puffs over moving blades on Speed 2, reverse, 50C until all combined. If too dry, add a splash more coconut nectar. If too wet, add more puffs, or chia seeds, or nuts or oats.
  4. With damp hands, press into a lamington tin, refrigerate and slice into squares – or into bite-size mini cupcake size.

Variations:

  • Couple tablespoons of Peanut butter
  • Leave out the cacao, add a teaspoon of vanilla extract for non-chocolate *gasp* crackles
  • Add more salt to aim for that salted caramel flavour (YUUUUM!)
  • Easily upgrade the nutritional value of this treat by adding chopped nuts, chia seeds, sesames, cranberries or whatever else you have in your nuts/seeds/dried fruit containers.
Comments
6 Responses to “Coconut Butter Crackles”
  1. Coconut Nectar…sounds divine…do I get that from you??
    Amazing…

    • Hi Tenina, thanks for visiting my humble l’il blog! I get it in 20L drums and sell to any locals who bring their glass jars round but I don’t think I’d pass any food packing standards to be able to post it out 😦 I can probably source it in pre-packed smaller jars, I’ll suss it out. Coconut nectar is the sap of the flower of the coconut tree. It’s one step less processed than coconut sugar and is the lowest GI of all the natural sweeteners (other than stevia) 🙂

  2. Sah says:

    Hey jodi, how much is your coconut nectar and is it as sweet as the agarve nectar?

    • Hi Sah 🙂
      It’s definitely not as sweet as agave – actually I’ve been sort of put off agave lately as I’m finding it just doesn’t agree with me, I seem to get the same crash as from sugar and also my tummy gets a bit upset so coconut nectar is the new black! I sell it for $12/kg – really cheap! Wanna come round this week with a glass bottle? Jodes x

  3. Rhi says:

    Is there something I can use other than coconut nectar?

Leave a Reply

