The Best Cupcake Recipe ever!

Photo Credit for the feature photo: Kirk  & Treens Photography

It dawned on me this morning that I’ve been holding out on you. I’m sorry. I can’t even remember where on earth I found this recipe but I’ve been using it for years and every single time I make them I get multiple compliments!

“Who made these cupcakes, they’re amazing!”

“These are the moistest cupcakes I’ve ever tasted!” (Yes, ‘moistest’ is a word!)

“Please can I have the recipe for these, they’re so light and fluffy!”

 

Cupcakes tend to be all about the decorations but when you bite into them they’re generally a pretty dry disappointment. I’m not even blowing my own horn here, especially since I didn’t even invent this one from scratch, but these are genuinely the most ‘moistest’, light and fluffiest cupcakes I have ever tasted! However… (yes, there’s a dot dot dot) these are not grain-free, they’re not even gluten-free *shock horror* but they can be made dairy-free and refined-sugar-free too. I’ve listed the original ingredients first, then the potential dairy-free, sugar-free modifications so you can choose

  • 125g (1/2C) Grassfed butter / coconut oil
  • 155g (3/4C) Castor sugar / Coconut Sugar /Honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1t Vanilla paste
  • 225g (1 1/2C) self-raising flour
  • 125ml (1/2C) Organic milk / Coconut Milk

  1. Preheat oven to 180C and line a muffin tray with large cupcake holders.
  2. Insert your butterfly into your Thermomix (TM) and cream together butter and sugar on Speed 4 for 2 minutes.
  3. Add eggs, one a time through the measuring cup hole, over running blades, followed by vanilla paste
  4. Remove butterfly, add flour and milk, alternating 1/3 at a time on Speed 6. You may need to scrape down the sides and remix.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Cool completely before icing and run. Run away and eat them all and then prepare for the imminent stomache if you are gluten/grain intolerant like me, it could be worth it though, these are pretty darn good!!

Comments
5 Responses to “The Best Cupcake Recipe ever!”
  1. I have tried your cupcakes before going GF and I LOVED them. They are so soft and tasty. A definite winner.

  2. Louisa says:

    Hi there. Could you please explain what you mean by “Remove butterfly, add flour and milk, alternating 1/3 at a time on Speed 6” in step 4 above? Thanks so much! 🙂

    • Jodi says:

      Hi Louisa, that means that I alternate adding the flour and milk 3 times each. In other words I add a third of the total flour in the recipe whilst my Thermomix is on speed 6, then a third of the milk, then some more flour, milk, flour and milk until it’s all incorporated. I hope that makes a bit more sense? Apologies is it’s unclear ❤ Jodi

  3. Susannah says:

    Can you bake cupcakes in little Icecream cones?? That looks great, but won’t the cones burn?

    • Jodi says:

      Hi Susannah, you absolutely can! I did it once when my little girl turned 2, you’d think the ice-cream cones would, but they don’t!

Leave a Reply

