Chia Coconut Bites

Food allergies are at a level never seen before and rising! There’s a little boy in my 3 year old’s class who has life-threatening anaphylactic allergic reactions to prawns, nuts, dairy, strawberries, egg and soy! He carries his little Epipen with him in a carry bag around his waist 24/7, poor little man. Eating almost entirely grain-free at home, most of my favourite treat and bread recipes use almond meal or some other kind of tree nut as a base. This, of course, poses a problem because I can’t send any of these lovely homemade goodies to their egg-free, nut-free school. That’s why I replace the nut butter in my Chocolate Peanut Butter slices with tahini and also why I came up with these this morning, to add to the girl’s lunch boxes:

  • 1T Hemp Seeds
  • 1T Golden Flaxseed (linseed)
  • 1T Sesame seeds
  • 2T Chia seeds
  • 2T Pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • 2T Raw Cacao
  • 2T Raw honey/maple syrup
  • 3T Coconut
  • 6 Medjool dates, de-pipped and soaked in boiling water for 10mins
  • Extra Coconut for rolling in (the balls, not you! If I were going to roll in something… you know it would be chocolate!) 😉
  1. Grind all the seeds together in your Thermomix (TM) on Speed 9 for 10 seconds. No TM? Grind in a coffee grinder/ food processor, until it’s a fine powder.
  2. Add coconut, cacao, drained dates & honey and blend on Speed 8 for another 10 seconds. If too dry, add 1 teaspoon of the date water over the running blades at a time until softer (I didn’t need to). My kids like it sweet so I added another 2T of coconut sugar
  3. Wet your hands, roll mixture into little balls and roll in coconut and VOILA, raw choccie nut-free treats!

Notes:

  • This recipe isn’t an exact science – if you don’t have hemp seeds, add an extra tablespoon of pepitas. No cacao? Get your butt in your car, and go and buy some (or the non-cheeky version…) leave it out *sigh*
  • Did you know that you body doesn’t digest flaxseed properly (or at all?!) unless it is ground up? Also flaxseed goes rancid really quickly so it’s best to buy it whole and grind it yourself as you need it, rather than buy those pre-ground LSA mixes (Linseeds/Sunflower/Almond)
  • Yes, Hemp is related to the Marijuana plant but the seeds, protein powder and particularly the oil has none of the mind altering properties of its notorious cousin but rather, a TON of health benefits: Protein, Omega 3’s & other essential fatty acids.

Comments
12 Responses to “Chia Coconut Bites”
  1. Venessa says:

    THESE LOOK GREAT…WILL BE MAKING THESE FOR A GUEST WHO IS ALSO NUT/DAIRY/ETC ETC FREE!

  2. Sah says:

    Loved these Jodi! Tried a few of the recipies but these are my favourite. Dead qiuck and easy too and the children love them, unknown to them how much goodness they are eating! I feel like i am winning……deceptively……but winning!!!

  3. Rhi says:

    Where do I find the hemp and chia seeds?

  4. Jane says:

    These look great!! I’m nut free and also replace nut butter with tahini. If you are ever looking to replace nut meals, toasted pepitas that are ground up, work a treat.

  5. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have
    really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    • Thank you so much! My posting was a big behind the 8 ball last but I’ve relinquished some other roles in my life which were the cause so I should be blogging regularly from now on! Regards, Jodi 🙂

  6. Carla says:

    Hi there, just wondering why the dates needs to be soaked?
    These sound delicious, will be trying them, thank you 🙂

    • Jodi says:

      Hey Carla 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting! I soak the dates as it makes them squishy and easier to blend – kind of like a paste. Otherwise I find they stay in little date chunks. Makes for a smoother ‘bite’ – not very scientific, lol, but they taste great! ❤ Jodi

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Chia Coconut Bites from Jodi at Hot Pink Chilli […]



Leave a Reply

