Coconut Milk Icecream

Just because I’m dairy & soy-free does not mean I am prepared to go without the best food ever invented (Other than chocolate… of course!) – ice-cream! For my 16th birthday party I had a ‘disco’ and my well-meaning Mom generously provided 6 x 2l tubs of the stuff. Every flavour imaginable. But us 16 year olds were far too cool-for-school to be seen lusting after the frozen treats, let alone asking for them and *gasp* licking it out of ice-cream cones! So… by the end of the evening 12l were leftover, which my dear big brother obligingly, through the course of the next week, helped himself to – every available minute of every day until, by the end of the week. It was all gone. 5 Days. 12 Litres! We’ve changed his passport since. His middle name is now ‘ice-cream’. True story…

The hunt was on to find a suitable non-soy substitute. I discovered Co Yo – Oh Em Gee! But at $13 a tub (tiny tub) and at the rate I was eating it, it became clear that I had to make it myself. I’ve been selfishly holding onto this recipe for a while now. Actually scratch that, that’s not true. I have been trying to take photos of it but (you know what’s coming…) I keep eating it before I get a chance to fire up the camera!

 

Coconut Milk Ice-cream

Note: this takes some forethought – freeze the coconut milk/cream in ice cube trays the night before you want it.

  • 400g tin of organic Coconut Milk/Cream*
  • 2T Nut Butter
  • 2T Raw Cacao
  • 2T Raw Honey/Maple Syrup
  • Pinch of salt (bring out the natural sweetness of chocolate according to Heston!)
  • 1tsp of real vanilla bean extract
  1. Powderise (you’ll see what I mean when you make this!) the frozen coconut milk cubes in your Thermomix on Speed 10 for 20 seconds.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and pulverise on speed 10 for another 10 seconds or until you can hear it’s done (it’ll make that loud vortex sound – like there’s nothing left in the bowl). It might still look like snow powder but once you scoop it out, it will come together like ice-cream immediately.
  3. Lock the door, switch your phone off and go to your ice-cream happy place…. this stuff’s sooooo good!!

Variations:

  • Finely grated orange zest (Jaffa!)
  • Teaspoon of strong espresso (Mocha!)
  • Desiccated coconut (Bounty!)
  • Cacao nibs (Choc-chip!)
  • Organic peppermint oil (Choc mint!)
  • Broken up Choc Coco Nut cookies (Cookie dough – I have got to make these again, they are 1 of my favourite treats!)

*The only difference between coconut milk and coconut cream is the fat content. Make sure you check your ingredients, many brands (even organic) add emulsifers, unneccesary e-additives, gelatine and more. Over at my Hot Pink Chilli Facebook page, I sell these naturally coloured sprinkles you see in the photos (coloured with blackcurrant extract) in many colours as well as pure organic coconut milk and cream. Email Jodi yum@hotpinkchilli.com.au to order

Comments
20 Responses to “Coconut Milk Icecream”
  1. Natural New Age Mum says:

    YUM! I made a coconut milk icecream flavoured with lime in the thermy for my hubby’s 40th birthday Indian banquet…it was exquisite… this sounds great – I am going to have to try it chocolatey now !!

    • Thanks Sonia, it’s my stock standard favourite evening snack – I permanently have ice cube trays in my freezer with coconut milk ready to go! The lemon one sounds beautiful too!

      • Natural New Age Mum says:

        I must start doing that. I just got a huge order of BPA free coconut milk in cans so I can now! 🙂

      • Ooh BPA-free, what brand does that?

      • Natural New Age Mum says:

        it’s Spiral – I ordered from Organics on a Budget on line as I can’t get it here – it’s organic too! OOAB do a discount with my readers, so let me know if you are interested ! 🙂

  2. This sounds delicious! Any suggestions for how to make it for us Thermomix nixed folk?

    • Buy a Thermomix? Just kidding 😉 You could take the icecubes out the freezer, let them thaw out a little and then blend them in your blender. Depending on the power of your machine that should work I would imagine. At worst it will make the most divine thick milkshake!!

  3. Kell says:

    oh yumi,,, i am defs making this on the weekend. xxxx love your work jodes.

  4. We make coconut milk ice-cream all the time! In summer it was amazing with mango too! Yumm 🙂

  5. Jo B says:

    can I ask have you got a vanilla version? or just leave the caco out ??

    • Hi Jo B, you could probably leave the cacao out and add a tsp of vanilla paste to get a vanilla icecream. I have a major raw chocolate weakness so I add cacao to everything!! I have to actively try think of new recipes without it, to accomodate other people’s tastes, lol 🙂

  6. miche123 says:

    I made this yesterday. So Yummy! I’m off sugar so it’s been a treat. Just popped some more in the freezer, to try with banana and dates. Do you think I can use Loving Earth cocoa butter?

  7. Roz says:

    O
    M
    G
    !!
    I just made this and it’s SO good! Thank you!

    • Ha ha, what a great response Roz, so glad you love it! My summer staple! Jodi 🙂

      • Roz says:

        I just made this again (after not having it for a couple of months) and still…OMG! I sprinkled some crushed walnuts on top too- yum. Love that making a ‘treat’ from real foods is so satisfying. I’m full!

  8. this is soooo good i am scared to eat it! xx

  9. why does it need the nut butter/ i’d prefer not to have nuts in it if possible

  10. Coralee Rose says:

    This is Dangerous……..just made this (jaffa) today and gave my son a teaspoon of it and after he tasted it his eyes nearly popped out of his head and the first word out of his mouth was WOW….I said…we’ll have to tell daddy about this (as daddy is away at this moment) and he said ….can we wait till I finish it…..hee hee….then you have to make more for Daddy to share with me 🙂 It’s just heaven on a spoon 🙂 It took alot of will power not to eat it all ….right there right then 😉

Leave a Reply

