Kale-fornication

Green is the new black. If you’ve ever sculled a glass of super refreshing, ice-cold green juice you would have to agree, no?! My green ambitions began brewing months ago,  but my juices have always resembled the rainbow. Rainbows are beautiful and undoubtedly nutritious but I knew I needed to go green! Riding the wave that is becoming known as my gut-asthma-journey, I’m learning that (among other things) I need to, rather heavy-handedly, top up my antioxidant levels as well as flip the coin on my ph levels in favour of alkaline.

 

I read recently that Kale is the most nutritious food per calorie, across the board! I can’t remember the source, but even if that’s remotely close to the truth, I’d say we’re onto a winner! After watching Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, followed closely by Hungry For Change I’ve been strongly convicted to revive my old juicing habit. Problem is, it was Thermomix IN and all other appliances (including my Breville Juicer) OUT! Having ‘met’ Jess the Wellness Warrior online as well as in person this week (she oozes health and gorgeousness!) I learnt the difference between centrifugal juicers (like my old Breville)  and cold-press juicers, and that of the 2, cold-press is the way to go to preserve maximum nutrients and enzyme without risk of heating. My juicer-less predicament prompted me to invent/discover my very own cold-press. So with very specific metric measurements *cough* and my extremely high-tech method *cough x2* here’s my:

 

Hot Pink Chilli Cold-pressed Kalifornication Green Juice

  • Bunch of Kale minus the stalks
  • Knob of peeled ginger
  • Chunk of peeled lemon
  • 1-2 small apples cut in half
  • handful of ice
  • 1 C of water
  • piece of cotton muslin cloth

 

1. Chuck all ingredients except for the muslin, duh! 😉 into your Thermomix (TM) and process on speed 10 for, say, 30 seconds

2. Line a big bowl with the muslin cloth, making sure the edges fold over the edges of the bowl. Pour juice into the lined bowl, gather up the corners and manually cold-press the heck outta of it!

Of course the variations are endless, try:

  • Cucumber
  • Celery
  • Cos lettuce
  • Baby spinach
  • Fresh mint
  • Fresh parsley (extremely high in alkalising chlorophyll)
  • Fresh Coriander (excellent in decreasing heavy metals)

Make sure you buy only organic greens as these are among the highest pesticided foods around! Don’t forget to keep the pulp leftover from your, erm, cold-pressed juice to add to smoothies, stirfries, raw desserts or even compost!

So what’s the big fuss about green juice, why’s it so good for you and all the rage? What does alkalise mean and why should you be doing it, and how?! I’m inclined to ramble on with what I’ve discovered in my research but in the spirit of keeping a simple recipe post from becoming an epic novel, please read the following links:

Comments
2 Responses to “Kale-fornication”
  1. Nicola says:

    I did that today with beetroot, apple and silverbeet, then just put it in the rice strainer and poked at it (hard) to squeeze out the remaining juice. Because of the blending first does that mean its not cold-pressed? I am confused as you are as I love my thermo but was thinking of a cold pressed juicer for christmas….but I really kind of want my thermo to be the answer.

    • Hot Pink Chilli says:

      In my opinion, blending in the Thermomix then cold-pressing by hand with cloth is still considered cold-pressed because I don’t find that the Thermomic generates any heat within the bowl when blending. I used to have a Breville juicer which I sold when we got our TM and with that one, I can definitely see how that amount of spinning and squashing and sieving would heat the machine up, and therefore the vegetables too. I have about 10 pieces of muslin cloth which are folded up underneath my sink which I rotate as I juice, I find it really easy to do. Once I’ve rinsed them out, I run them through the washing machine and you’re done! Thanks for commenting, Jodi 🙂

Leave a Reply

