Protein Colada

Ask anyone who knows me what my idea of a perfect holiday is, and my answer is the same… verbatim… everytime:

“Stick me under a palm tree for 2 weeks with a Pina Colada in my hand and I am happy!”

Our honeymoon was 10 days in an unbelievably romantic loveshack perched on a hillside overlooking where the river meets the ocean – where you could watch the tides rolling in from the outdoor shower *sigh* From Babymoons to work trips… Hayman Island, Club Med, Vanuatu & New Caledonia. Daydream Island had a great swim-up bar, as did Hamilton where I enjoyed a particularly memorable swim-up Pina Colada!

Not currently residing on an intimate island nor with any plans to do so in the near future (sad!) I dreamt this baby up to satiate my desires… for the tropics and Pina Coladas! My drink date was perfectly timed: just enough time had passed since lunch that I was empty enough to enjoy it… with just enough time before my evening workout so that I could be energised by it – but not spending the whole session trying to keep it down! It’s that kind of gym – the one with a bucket in the middle of the room!

Feel free to add ‘-ish’ to the measurements, to make it to your taste:

1/2C / 90g Frozen (from fresh) Pineapple

4 Cubes / 60g Frozen Ripe Banana*

200g Organic Coconut Milk

25g Vanilla** Pea Protein

Juice of 1/4 fresh lemon

5 Drops of Lemon scented liquid stevia

Shot of Rum (Kidding! Or am I…) πŸ˜‰

  • Blitz the frozen fruits in your Thermomix (or high-powered blender) on Speed 10 for 20 seconds or until done.
  • Scrape down the sides, add coconut milk, protein powder, lemon juice & stevia and blitz again for 10 seconds.
  • Pour into an island style glass and top with some desiccated coconut.
  • Close your eyes, picture your sunrise and slurp that slippery sucker down.

Altogether now… “Aaaaaaaah”

Variations: Top with chia seeds for added protein or cacao nibs for some crunch as well as that all-important muscle recovering magnesium.

* I buy up big on marked-down over ripe bananas and freeze them in ice cube trays for use in smoothies, icecreams and shakes

** I didn’t have Vanilla today, so used chocolate-flavoured, but the vanilla is better (in this recipe only!) *GASP*

Comments
3 Responses to “Protein Colada”
  1. vickilw says:

    Just shared this with friends πŸ™‚

  2. naturalnewagemum says:

    I like it, I like it a lot !! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

