Power Parfait Perfection

“You know what ELSE everybody likes? Parfaits! Have you ever met a person, you say, “Let’s get some parfait,” they say, “Hell no, I don’t like no parfait”? Parfaits are delicious! Parfait’s gotta be the most delicious thing on the whole damn planet”

If Donkey, Shrek’s bestie,  likes parfaits that much then he should definitely try this one! My version is loaded with protein & Omega 3’s, exploding with anti-oxidants and teeming with lip-smacking deliciousness! And it’s sooooo purrrrrrdy!

  • Coconut Milk Yoghurt
  • Maple Granola Crunch (this week’s batch has added raw goji berries and lots of raw chia seeds)
  • Fresh fruit, your choice – my faves are blueberries, pomegranate, sliced banana or strawberries.
  1. Simply layer in a beautiful tall glass alternating your coconut milk yoghurt, Maple Granola Crunch and fruit.

The fact that this parfait is as close to a perfect breakfast as I could ever imagine only scratches the surface of the nutritional punch this l’il baby packs. Plus, you gotta love a recipe with no measurements and only 1 instruction, my kinda cooking!

I’ve already talked about the incredible health benefits of coconut in all it’s forms and it would be really tough to ‘sum it up’ but I will try without taking a breath:

  • Being full of Lauric Acid makes it anti-bacterial, anti-fungal and anti-viral
  • It’s fat is made up of medium chain fatty acids enabling the body to use it as instant energy rather than storing it on your booty
  • Moisturises your skin from the inside out while also being fantastic to apply topically to your skin and hair
  • Packed with magnesium which is known as the world’s biggest mineral deficiency
  • Full of iron preventing anaemia and phosphorous which strengthens bones
  • (TAKE A BREATH) and tastes delicious!

Chia Seeds. Where do I start – they don’t call it a superfood for nothing! If there were Academy Awards for food, these guys would walk away with top prizes every year!

  • They are the highest plant source of Omega 3s, which is great for someone like me who’s allergic to salmon (BOO!) and needs an alternative.
  • They contain 7 times more vitamin C than oranges
  • 6 x more fibre than oatbran
  • 5 x more calcium than milk
  • 4 x higher on the ORAC scale than blueberries
  • 3 x more iron than spinach and twice the potassium than bananas.
  • They are also the only ‘wholegrain’ that you can eat raw exactly as it comes from the plant without removing the husk, milling, processing or cooking… Told ya!

Goji Berries – these unassuming wrinkled (and let’s face it, pretty ugly!) red berries have been consumed by many eastern cultures for 1000’s of years but are only scratching the surface, here, in the West. Why so popular?

  • They’re particularly high in an anti-oxidant called Zeaxanthin which protects the retina of your eye, preventing age-related Macular Degeneration
  • Test-tube tests have shown they prevent cancer cell growth
  • Reduce blood glucose and lower cholesterol levels
  • They’re powerful anti-agers (Gojitox anyone?!)
  • All the research I did indicated that these nutritional benefits only apply to the whole fruit, not it’s more expensive cousin – Goji Juice, so shop wisely!

Comments
4 Responses to “Power Parfait Perfection”
  1. EstavHages says:

    Coconut Milk Yoghurt?? Please tell me how. Dairy of any kind doesn’t agree with me at all, but unfortunately I love yogurt. I love coconut milk too though so this ‘yogurt’ would suit me to a tee!

    • Hi Esta, I’ve had a few failed attempts at making it myself so at the moment I”m buying Coyo Coconut Milk yoghurt from my local organic/health shop. It’s not cheap so is a fortnightly treat for me as I am daity intolerant too (Leaky Gut). I have one more idea up my sleeve which I want to try this week, hopefully it’s successful! Thanks for reading 🙂 Jodi

  2. Lexine Prendeville says:

    your crunchy granola museli here is a huge hit with me, mine and everyone else I know. Can’t make enough to keep up with them! we have a sick staff member and guess what I’m sending her… she’ll just love it too. My staff roommates just nibble from the jar on our table and I am filling any jars they bring in. Thank you for your passion to help us all attain and maintain good health. I am loving all your ideas.

    • Hi Lexine, it’s gaining a bit of a cult following it seems! I’m in big trouble if we run out at my house before I’ve made another batch so I’m doing double batches these days! Thanks so much for following and reading and liking, hows your raw diet going? ❤ Jodi

Leave a Reply

