Aussie, Aussie, Aussie…

…Oi Oi Oi!!

Just like Christmas, I’m not missing out on Australia Day food just because traditional Lamingtons twist my stomach into a knot! And yes, the age-old debates continues to rage about where these sweet treats originated: Australia or New Zealand. Here’s a grain-free, dairy-free and sugar-free version which I’m sure neither can lay claim to – however Nourishing Kitchen can, thanks to this delicious blog for the original inspiration!

Happy Tummy Lamingtons

  • 12 Free-range eggs (yep, a whole dozen)
  • 500g / 2C almond milk
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Zest of half an Orange (optional, but in my opinion it makes this dish!)
  • 220g / 2C coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp good-quality salt

Icing (borrowed this idea from Treen’s Skinny Jeans Brownies)

  • 200g Sugar-free dark chocolate – Lindt 80% otherwise I used my own home-made, sweetened with stevia
  • 1/2 C Sugar-free jam – St Dalfours is great and widely available… please don’t use anything artificially sweetened!
  • 1/2 C coconut oil
  • 1 C Shredded Coconut

Preheat the oven to 180C and line 2 lamington tins with baking paper. Beat eggs, almond milk and honey together with vanilla & orange rind until smooth. Whisk in coconut flour, baking soda and salt. Pour the cake batter into the tins and bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake’s center comes out clean. It’s important to note that coconut flour is super absorbent, picture chia-seeds-on-steroids, so get your cakes into the oven asap to avoid the coconut flour soaking up all the liquid before it’s even cooked – resulting in a brick. Allow the cake to cool completely before cutting into squares and removing from the cake tins.

It’s icing time! Melt the chocolate over a double boiler – I prefer this old school method to using a microwave as they destroy any and all nutrients. Did you know that microwaves are banned in Russia? I blitzed my chocolate in my Thermomix (TM) on Speed 9 for 10 seconds; then melted it on speed 1 at 70C for 1 minute. Blend in your jam and add the liquid coconut oil over moving blade through the hold in the lid, to avoid oily icing. Without a TM, simply whisk it in by hand.

If you’re making these with kids like I did – aprons are a must for this particularly messy activity. Ensuring an even coating of chocolate icing is possible through a combination of dredging the cake squares through the icing, followed up by some pastry brush action. Even their pudgy little hands seems to manage a pretty good coating of icing this way (on the lamingtons as well as in their stomaches!)

Finally, dunk your chocolatey lamingtons into the coconut and behold… the world’s healthiest lamington square. Aussie or kiwi? It’s too delicious to bother caring!

Remembering that coconut oil has a melting point of 25C means it’s best to make these in the morning and serve by the afternoon or you might be faced with a plate of melted chocolate with squares of cake floating around in it. I’m freezing mine and will take them out in the morning to thaw at their own pace. Avoid the fridge too as this tends to dry out baked goods faster than you can say chia-seeds-on-steroids – if you don’t know what I’m taking about, I discuss these l’il seed’s absorption qualities in this post. Happy Australia Day 2012 πŸ™‚

Comments
10 Responses to “Aussie, Aussie, Aussie…”
  1. Zoe says:

    AMAZING!!! I was just trying to see if there were healthier lamingtons about πŸ™‚

  2. Shara says:

    Looks good! I’ve not heard of the NZ link before, I’ll have to quiz Kaleb!!

  3. Katie Gaudry says:

    I want a thermomix… yes that’s right, you and Treens have finally convinced me.

  4. Love this recipe. Funny thing is for years I’ve been visiting Australia I never had a lamington, until last November when I visited for my sister’s wedding (Susanna & Paul). Finally tried it and liked; but this recipe looks superlative!! Thanks!

  5. Thank-you so much flipyourbrain, ah yes Susanna & Paul – I’ve now made the connection! SO appreciate you following my hunble little blog, please spread the word πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

