Crispy Pizza Italiano

Food often brings back travel memories for me: my French sabbatical during my first year out of high school; visiting my cousins on their rose farm in Israel or our regular pre-children romantic getaways. Having been a foodie most of my life in some way or another, I’ve always looked forward to sampling the local speciality. To my disappointment though, I endured the worst paella in Spain and the worst pizza in Venice!

This pizza, on the other hand, will not disappoint – just look at the texture of that base! Recently discovering that quinoa is not a grain, but a seed (whose plant is related to the spinach family) has vastly enlarged the variety of dishes I experiment with. Quinoa (keen-wah) has been labelled a new superfood despite the fact that it has been a staple food for many South American cultures for thousands of years. What’s so super about it? Aside from the fact that it’s gluten-free, it contains all 9 essential amino acids classifying it a complete protein – mostly unheard of in the plant world and therefore great for vegans. Once known as “Gold of the Incas” it acts as a prebiotic in your stomach, feeding all your good bacteria making it very tummy friendly. Compared to grains such as wheat, barley or corn – quinoa has significantly higher levels of calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, potassium, iron, copper, manganese, and zinc which is what gives this powerhouse seed its nutritious reputation (read: contains good stuff for your body!)

Makes 2 large pizzas

  • 1 C / 120g Quinoa Flour (or grind whole quinoa grain in your Thermomix on Speed 9 for 1 minute)
  • 1 sachet (7g) dry yeast
  • 1 t Himalayan / Celtic salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C warm water

Pre-heat your oven to 200C. Sift together the flour and salt. In a separate bowl whisk together your water, egg and yeast. Add your wet mix to your flour mix and stir together. If you find the dough too dry, add more warm water 1 Tablespoon at a time until it comes together. If it’s too wet, add a bit more flour until the consistency is less of a batter and more like a dough.

I knead my dough for 2 minutes in my Thermomix on ‘Interval’, failing that you can give it a go by hand for a couple of minutes. Leave in a warm spot for 30mins to let it rest ‘n rise.Β  For one pizza, roll out half the dough between 2 pieces of baking paperΒ  until your desired pizza base thickness – in my world of pizza perfection, thin and crispy is the only way! Bake in the oven for 10 minutes. During my experiments with this base,Β  if I didn’t pre-bake, the cheese would melt before the base was cooked, resulting in a less than ideal texture. This step becomes increasingly important to success of the dish for those who prefer a thicker base.

Now for the fun part… the decorations! After tomato paste and mozzarella cheese, the sky’s the limit – I love chorizo sausages and mushrooms. Cook it in a pizza oven for about 4 minutes, keeping an eye on it – if you don’t have a pizza oven, just pop it back into your pre-heated 200C oven. This particular pizza was dolloped with home-made cashew, capsicum and sun-dried tomato dip that was hanging around in the fridge, I tossed on some rocket and swirled over some balsamic reduction (found in the vinegar section at Woolworths). You will marvel at how well this base holds up under all those toppings!

Other than that the fact that this pizza is a total crowd-pleaser (even compared with it’s cousin: Sir Bloat-a-lot wheat base), this is one of those meals which I frequently use to empty my fridge of that leftover handful of olives, scraps of feta, that annoying half-a-red-onion that’s hiding about. The other reason I love this meal is because it’s a fantastic way to get your kids involved in the kitchen. I roll the dough out and smear on the tomato paste but after that, I let em loose! Kids seem to eat more enthusiastically if they’ve played a part in making their food. I’ve always said that there is nothing more satisfying than watching children tuck into food that you know is so good for them!

This pizza is a nominee for my upcoming L.I.M Meal Plans (Less Is More… Less “what’s for dinner” and More easy meals). It is so easy to double this recipe to make more pizzas than you need and then freeze them completely cooked. During the week when hubby needs lunch on the run, he takes one out the freezer and quickly reheats in the pizza oven or conventional oven and BOOM, lunch is sorted! Bon Appetito πŸ™‚

~Love Jodes

Comments
14 Responses to “Crispy Pizza Italiano”
  1. Shara says:

    Pizza is our family favourite, and even though I make my dough from scratch, I think yours look delicious!!! I love the balsmic reduction idea as I would usually (pre-sugar days) douse my pizza in BBQ sauce!

  2. This is my most favourite pizza base! It has a wonderful pizza base texture and my husband prefers it to the gluten bases (which says a lot!). I tried it with black quinoa too which was fun. Love your photos xx

  3. Thanks Shara, you should definitely try it, it’s really good (if I do say so myself!) Please let me know what you think? ❀ J

  4. Venessa says:

    I am certainly going to try this base as I am a lover of superthin bases! I have found it just about impossible to find a decent base in Aus…so here goes! i am new to “keen wa’ …but very happy to give it a go as with my “Trifina…my thermo it is so easy to do. So give it a go everyone..thumbs up for easy, healthy meals!!

    • Thank-you Mama πŸ™‚ You will love quinoa – especially once you see how versatile it is. Tonight I made some flatbread with quinoa flour to go with dinner, I also love to just steam it and serve it instead of couscous, for the girls. Can’t wait to hear how you go! xx

  5. Lizette Naude says:

    Looks very yummy girls, I will have to give this a try then xxx L

  6. Clairebee says:

    Sounds Yummo HPC & “Sir Bloat-a-lot” made me giggle :)))

  7. Venessa Hofmann says:

    I am on the market for a good flatbread recipe, so please do share one with us.thanks!

  8. Keep your eye on HPC for that flatbread πŸ™‚

  9. suetopia says:

    Hi, how much does 1C of quinoa flour weigh? I’m thermomixing this one for sure!

    • Hi Sue, thanks so much for following and commenting πŸ™‚ I can’t imagine how I didn’t pick up that mistake on a TM blog and why I was using cup measurements to begin with – shock, horror! πŸ˜‰ 1 C of quinoa flour = 120g. I hope this helps, please email me a photo of your pizza to hotpinkchilli@gmail.com and I will upload it to my ‘Liker <3' album on facebook. Thanks again, Jodi

  10. Irene says:

    Hiya. If making the dough in the TMX do u still recommend to use separate bowl to mix egg/yeast/water? Can’t wait to try the recipe – desperate for anything breadlike!!! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a drier mix, remember that less coconut oil = less crunchy granola. I like my granola how I like my pizza base, you guessed it… crunchy! On that note, I find that it has just the right amount of maple […]



Leave a Reply

