Skinny Jeans Brownie

Every foodie blog needs a brownie recipe, or two, or three – it especially helps if the brownie allows you to still fit into your skinny jeans!

I feel quite privileged to be writing the first brownie recipe here for Hot Pink Chilli, although the pressure is rather daunting. Luckily, when creating this recipe I had many taste testers to give me their honest feedback – my family.  I am pleased to announce that the feedback was 100% positive after all those different taste buds had a go, so I have the confidence that I will be doing the brownie proud.

When cooked for the right amount of time, the brownie is soft, moist and lovely. Just like a good brownie should be. You can also have more than one slice…we have no flour, refined sugar or other junk in these yummies so your body will love you for it (and your skinny jeans too).

Skinny Jeans Brownie

  • 120g high quality chocolate (dark or milk depending on your taste)
  • 100g almond butter  (see recipe below – need almonds only)
  • 80g almond meal
  • 5 tbs cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1  1/2 tbs vanilla extract
  • 5 tbs agave
Almond Butter
  • 100g almonds
  1. Put the almonds into a food processor or Thermomix and whiz until almost in a paste. I didn’t have time to wait for the almonds to turn into a paste, so I just made it extremely fine and the almond oils were just starting to make the mixture moist. The brownies still worked!
Topping for Brownie
  • 60g high quality chocolate (dark or milk to match the brownie base)
  • 2 tbs raspberry jam (preferably without sugar if you can find, or you can make yourself with your Thermomix and use honey instead of refined sugar!). I bought blackberry jam which contained organic grape juice, organic blackberries and a natural pectin. This jam was on special for $2.99 at the Forest Glen Health Food Store.
The Process
  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C.
  2. Melt the chocolate in your Thermomix (50C on speed 3 for 2 minutes), or on the stove, or in the microwave.
  3. Put the almond butter, almond meal, melted chocolate, cocoa, eggs, vanilla extract and agave into a food processor/Thermomix and mix.
  4. Pour into a baking tin that has been lined with baking paper and bake for approximately 20 minutes but don’t over bake or it will not be moist and soft.
  5. Melt topping chocolate and then add some jam to the melted chocolate…add more jam if you want it sweeter!
  6. When the brownie has completely cooled add the chocolate/jam topping.
You are never going to make another gluten/sugar laden brownie again after you taste this one!
– Love Treens
Comments
6 Responses to “Skinny Jeans Brownie”
  1. Bev Wilson says:

    I am following a no sugar diet such as that being followed by Sarah Wilson and just have one query about these brownies. You mention no refined sugar but all the chocolate I have found ( even the good quality 70% cocoa butter still has over 30gr. sugar for each 100 grams) Does this sugar not count as refined sugar? I am so anxious to make these brownies but can’t bring myself to use so much chocolate. Am I missing something in the translation?

    • Hi Bev,
      Thanks so much for following and commenting – Sarah Wilson’s sugar detox plan is fantastic and I am a big fan of her work! The chcoolate I use in this recipe and others is either my own home-made melting raw cacao butter over a low heat and mixing in raw cacao butter, sweetening with Stevia and peppermint oil (yum!). Otherwise I use Loving Earth’s raw, organic chocolate blocks which are sweetened with coconut nectar. I haven’t found any adverse effects personally using coconut nectar as a natural sweetener, it’s low GI and processed at low temperatures keeping all it’s nutrients intact. You should be able to get all of these ingredients at your local organic or health food store. Alternatively you can also buy them all from me too, if you’d like to email me at yum@hotpinkchilli.com.au I can send you some prices? Chat to you soon, Jodi

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Icing (borrowed this idea from Treen’s Skinny Jeans Brownies) […]



Leave a Reply

