Festive Delights. Grain-free, sugar-free style!

This years Chris-makkah and New Years celebrations were somewhat ground-breaking and exploratory in the food department, in comparison to previous years. Determined not to sacrifice flavour, I started my recipe research well ahead of time! Here’s some of my favourites we ended up with..

Treen’s Famous Grain-free Crackers

Process 300g mixed nuts until ‘flour-ish’ consistency, add 1 x egg, 1t salt and process into a sticky dough. Roll between 2 sheets of baking paper to about 5mm thick. Use a pizza cutter to mark out (but not cut!) your crackers, sprinkle with sesame seeds and bake in a 180*C oven for 10 minutes. Watch carefully towards the end as the edges can burn quickly. Once cool, break up into your crackers, pile high with dip and enjoy! PS: You’ll notice that, in my eagerness to get these babies going, I forgot to mark them into squares so we ended up with roughly broken up pieces of crackers – but they held up very well against the dip and crumbled beautifully in the mouth.

Guacamole Dip

Mash together as many ripe avocados as you need with freshly squeezed lemon juice to taste, salt and pepper and a flick of dried chillies. If you are feeling particularly festive (which I was and usually am…), fold through a dollop of thick raw organic jersey cream… yuuuuummm!

Naturally Sweetened Cranberry Sauce

Cook down 1 C of organic dried cranberries in 1/2 C of pineapple juice and 1/2 C apple sauce on a slow simmer for about 10 minutes. I did this in my Thermomix on 90*C, speed soft on reverse. Add the juice of 1 orange, stir through and voila – the world’s easiest, most delicious cranberry sauce ever!

Dates in a blanket

De-pip some juicy Medjool Dates and stuff each with an almond, a cube of soft goats cheese and wrap in a generous ribbon of proscuitto. Bake in a 200*C for 10 minutes, turning the dates after 5 minutes. At first I was concerned that the feta and the proscuitto would be too salty but these dates are so juicy and sweet, I actually could’ve been more generous with the salty flavours – they were almost too sweet!

Fruit Mince Pies

I made these on Christmas day with a recipe inspired by this one – with a few changes: I forgot to buy Suet and, not wanting to brave the shops again, substituted with coconut oil. It has a slightly lower melting point which made these a bit oily at room temperature but the flavour was fantastic! I also used some lovely organic cranberries left over from my cranberry sauce, which tasted great! Next year, I will make the ‘mince’ in advance like most avid fruit mince pie-makers do (some, a year ahead!) as this improves flavours vastly apparently.

Between Treens and I we’ve really got some great original recipes lined up for the next few weeks… so, please spread the word and thanks for following our humble little blog! πŸ™‚

Love,

Jodes

Comments
5 Responses to “Festive Delights. Grain-free, sugar-free style!”
  1. Shara says:

    I have never thought about cream in the guacamole sound delish! They all sound delish!

  2. KarenW says:

    I’m really glad that you found my mince pie recipe because it means that I found your recipe for the stuffed dates. Delicious!

    • Hi Karen, thank-you & you’re welcome! Going sugar & grain free was all fine and well until I contemplated Christmas without fruit mince pies so this recipe saved the day! πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] like Christmas, I’m not missing out on Australia Day food just because traditional Lamingtons twist my […]



Leave a Reply

